Tim Howard to NYCFC?

English Publication The Daily Mail has indicated that New York City FC, Toronto FC and the Los Angeles Galaxy are all in play for USMNT and Everton goalkeeper Tim Howard.

NYCFC already has three goalkeepers on the roster but after Howard’s spectacular, record-breaking World Cup performance against Belgium, he showed he’s still got it.

Everton would consider selling Howard due to the emergence of Joel Robles. Robles was subbed on to the pitch after Howard suffered a mid-game injury against Stoke City on December 26. Ever since then, Robles has become the starting keeper, leaving Howard out to dry.

Howard did play in the MLS from 1998-2003 with the MetroStars. However Howard did have this to say after the World Cup.

“For me, I think the MLS ship has sailed. That’s what it looks like, anyway. I signed a new four-year contract with Everton. If you cut me open, I bleed blue and I want to finish my career there. I can’t foresee myself coming back. I think there was probably a chance before I signed the contract, but not anymore.”

Everton has also been linked to Orjan Nyland and David Marshall, another indicator of a the 35-year-old’s potential departure.

Leave a Reply

