Tim Cahill Leaving Red Bulls

New York Red Bulls’ Designated Player Tim Cahill has left the New York Red Bulls by mutual agreement.

Cahill has had quite the career in New York, joining the Red Bulls in July 2012. In 62 appearances with the club Cahill notched 14 goals and 10 assists. He was named an MLS All-Star and to the MLS Best XI in 2013.

Cahill helped lead the Red Bulls to the Eastern Conference Championship and winning the Supporters’ Shield in 2013.

The Australian national had this to say about his departure.

I’ve enjoyed every moment of my time at the Red Bulls and leave with great memories. I joined with the ambition of helping to grow and positively affect soccer in the US, and I feel immensely proud of what we achieved as a team during my time in the MLS. Winning the Supporters’ Shield was, without doubt, one of the best moments I have experienced in my career, and I am now looking forward to my next chapter, which I will announce in due course.

As said in the quote, Cahill is not moving to a new team immediately, however due to his incredible performance in the Asia Cup, scoring three goals and leading Australia to victory he is sure to find a suitor.

Cahill has been linked to teams in the UAE, Qatar, China and even a move back to the Premier League (quite a stretch) according to the Daily Telegraph.

Leave a Reply

