Can Teixeira Return To Being A 30-100 Player?

It’s no secret that New York Yankees starting first basemen Mark Teixeira has been in a bit of a decline over the last two seasons. 

He’s played in just 138 games, and has hit 25 home runs and driven in 78 RBI’s in those games. He’s also hit just .213 over the course of those two seasons  

This season though, the 35 year old vows to be a new player 

“I look at the last two years as hopefully more of a bump in the road,” Teixeira said. “The way I feel now, I feel like a kid again. I feel like I did a few years ago when I was hitting 30-plus homers and driving in 100 RBIs, playing almost every single day.

“Thirty and 100 is kind of what I’ve always been and what I want to be. So if I can do that, then I know I’m helping the team out. That is the most important thing. I know if I can do that, then I know I’m helping the team out.”

Texieria hasn’t reached that mark since 2011, when he smacked 39 home runs and drove in 111 RBI’s for an exceptional season. He did come close on 2012, hitting 24 home runs and driving in 84 RBI’s in an injury plagued season where he missed 39 games. 

Is it a realistic goal for Tex, to return to his elite hitting form, and hit 30 home runs and drive in 100 runs?

The answer relies solely on whether or not he can stay healthy. 

Tex hit 24 home runs last season despite battling injuries and missing 39 games, and being surrounded by underachieving hitters. With the Yankees looking to have a revamped lineup this season, he should have a better chance to drive in runs and get better pitches to hit. 

Texieria has made improvements to his diet and lifestyle in order to remain healthy throughout the season. He’s cut gluten out of his diet in order reduce inflammation in his wrist, which has crippled him for years now.

The 100 RBI’s mark could be unattainable though. The Yankees lineup has many question marks, such as how guys such as Carlos Beltran and Brian McCann will perform, and if they don’t hit very well than the teams offense could falter, thus making it harder for Tex to drive in runs. 

If his new lifestyle does help him stay healthy though, hitting 30 home runs is absolutely in his reach. If the rest of the Yankees offense can also play well, 30 home runs and 100 RBI’s might be a solid goal for the former All Star.

Leave a Reply

