Jenrry Mejia Suspended 80 Games for PEDs

New York Mets closer Jenrry Mejia has been suspended 80 games for testing positive for Stanozolol, a performance-enhancing substance. He is the fourth player to be suspended for this same substance in recent weeks by MLB, following fellow pitchers Ervin Santana, Arodys Vizcaino, and David Rollins.

Mejia had yet to play this year, after going on the DL with elbow inflammation, shortly after Opening Day against the Washington Nationals. He was slated to to be the Mets’ closer this year, after taking over mid-way through last season. It appears, until further notice, that Jeurys Familia will be the Mets closer for now.

Mejia released the following statement:

“I know the rules are the rules and I will accept my punishment, but I can honestly say I have no idea how a banned substance ended up in my system. I have been through a lot in my young career and missed time due to injury. I have worked way too hard to come back and get where I am, so I would never knowingly put anything in my body that I thought could hold me out further”

Mejia will not night fight the suspension, as confirmed by his agent.

One thought on “Jenrry Mejia Suspended 80 Games for PEDs”

Leave a Reply

